Can anybody beat Sheridan? High school football fans across the Cowboy State have been asking that question for nearly a century. Coming off their third consecutive 4A title, the Broncs now boast 26 state championships, more than any other school.

Sheridan's football dynasty began in 1921 when they claimed the first of three straight state titles. Aside from a 24-year title drought between 1958 and 1982, Sheridan has won multiple state championships in every decade since.

Cokeville has the second most successful program in Wyoming, with 22 state titles. Coach Todd Dayton holds the state record for wins. Since taking over the Panthers in 1980, Dayton has tallied 315 victories and was recently inducted to the National High School Coaches Hall of Fame.

Laramie has 16 state championships under their belt, good for third place on the list. The Plainsmen dominated the 1950s and '60s, winning 12 titles in 20 years. Their current 24-year title drought is the longest in school history.

Worland ranks fourth on the list of Wyoming's winningest programs. The Warriors have won 14 state championships, including four straight titles from 1924 to 1927, five straight titles from 1952 to 1956, and three straight titles from 2002 to 2003.

Natrona County rounds out the top five programs in Wyoming history. The Mustangs have celebrated 13 state titles since 1928, winning at least one championship in every decade except the 1950s.


More From KOWB 1290