Four wins and team depth led the Sheridan Broncs to a dominant and third consecutive Wyoming High School Boys’ Indoor Track team title on Saturday in Gillette.

Sheridan won the boys’ championship for the fourth time in school history with 142 team points. Runner-up Cheyenne Central was a distant second place with 67 points. Natrona County came in third and scored 58 points.

KOWB 1290 logo
Get our free mobile app

The Broncs were led by Ryan Karajanis, who defended his title in the pole vault. He cleared 15-feet for the victory.

The other three wins for Sheridan came on the track. Junior Carter McComb won the 200-meters with a time of 22.52 seconds. The Broncs also had victories in the 4x800 meter relay (8:25.43) and the 1600 Sprint Medley relay (3:43.38).

Sheridan finished with 19 other top-eight point-producing performances. That included second-places from McComb (55-meters), Reese Charest (800 meters), Austin Akers (1600 meters), David Standish (3200 meters), Kyle Meinecke (55-meter hurdles), and in the 4x400 meter relay.

Star Valley’s Peter Visser and Natrona County’s Robert Douglas were the two double-event winners.

Visser set a new state record in the 1600-meters with a time of 4:14.81. It was the one state record that fell at this year’s championships. He broke the old mark of Cody’s Brody Smith, which was set on March 5, 2016. The previous time was 4:15.12.

Visser also won the 3200-meters in 9:57.09.

Douglas swept the 55-meter dash and 55-meter hurdles. He took first place in the 55-meters with a time of 6.51 seconds and won the hurdles in 7.73 seconds.

There was also another defending champion that reclaimed his title. Cheyenne East’s Kaliff Guevara repeated as the champ in the triple jump. He won by nearly four feet, and his best jump was 46-4.25. Guevara added a fourth-place finish in the long jump and ran a leg on East’s runner-up 1600 Sprint Medley relay.

Laramie’s Aidan Morris picked up a win in the long jump (21-7) by 0.5 inches, was second in the pole vault (14-6), and placed third in the 55-meter hurdles (7.93).

Other event winners were Darius Wiggins from Kelly Walsh in the 400-meters (50.54), Kyland Fuller of Torrington (Goshen County) in the 800 (2:03.17), Laramie’s John Rose in the high jump (6-2), and Evanston’s Payton Vernon in the shot put (54-11.50).  Relay winners were Campbell County in the 4x200 meters (1:32.23) and Thunder Basin in the 4x400 meters (3:31.28).


ALSO SEE: 30 Most Decade-Defining Memes

More From KOWB 1290