Whether it was individual runners or the teams, those who were favored came away with the crowns at the 2022 Wyoming High School Cross Country State Championships in Ethete on Saturday.

There were four first-time winners, a repeat, and the rare four-time champion among the individual champions this year.

The team winners included four repeat champs, a first-time winner in Class 4A, and a girls’ team that won their fourth in a row.

The 2022 championships were highlighted by the first-ever four-time boys’ cross-country state champion. Grant Bartlett of Saratoga made history after winning his fourth consecutive Class 2A boys’ cross-country title. Bartlett crossed the finish line in 17:24.58 and made history.

There have been several three-time winners on the boys’ side, most recently, Star Valley’s Peter Visser, but no four-time champions until Saturday. Grant’s brother, Grady placed second for the fourth straight year, as well. He came in at 17:32.07.

Rocky Mountain/Burlington won the 2A boys’ team crown for the second straight year and second in school history. They scored 28 points. Saratoga was second, just one point back. Tongue River placed third.

In Class 3A boys, Mountain View’s Owen Burnett won his second consecutive state championship on Saturday. He finished at 16:04.37. Burnett is from Kemmerer High School but runs for the Buffalos. He won by nearly 33 seconds and helped Mountain View repeat as the team champions in 3A.  They scored 71 points for the second title in school history. Evanston was second, and Cody third.

The Class 4A boys’ state champion was Habtamu Wetzel, who set a new course record with his victory in 15:48.04. The Star Valley sophomore won by 21 seconds and helped his team win a title in their first year in the division. Star Valley captured its’ eighth title in school history but first in Class 4A. The Braves scored 50 points, which was 29 better than runner-up Cheyenne Central. Laramie took third.

On the lady’s side, all three individual champions were first-time winners, while the team winners kept their streaks going.

Mallory Jones of Moorcroft won the 2A title. She completed the 5K course at a time of 21:20.5. Her margin of victory was just over 22 seconds.

Saratoga placed four runners in the top eight and won their second straight 2A team championship dominantly. They scored 17 team points, which was 40 better than Tongue River, who placed second. Thermopolis came in third place.

Lander’s Ameya Eddy ran the course in 19:29.21 and captured the 3A girls’ crown. She won by just over ten seconds.

Thanks to their depth, the Cody Fillies won the 3A team title for the fourth straight year and the sixth time in school history with 58 points. Evanston came in second place, while Powell took third.

In Class 4A girls, Cheyenne Central claimed both championships. Senior Sydney Morrell crossed the tape first with a new course record of 18:29.79. Her win helped the Indians repeat at the 4A girls’ state champs. Central scored 40 points for their seventh title in school history. Natrona County was second with 46 points, and Sheridan placed third.

4A Girls Cross Country Championship

4A Girls Cross Country Championship

4A Boys Cross Country Championship

4A Boys Cross Country Championship

More From KOWB 1290