The Ames Monument is one of 10 newly-designated national historic landmarks announced Wednesday by U.S. Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell and National Park Service Director Jonathan B. Jarvis.

Here is the portion of the press release pertaining to the Ames Monument:

The Ames Monument is a pivotal and highly significant work in the career of Henry Hobson Richardson. The simple massing and naturalistic materials of the Ames Monument, designed midway through his career, are a pure manifestation of a critical shift in his architectural design away from a reliance on references to historical stylistic motifs. 

The Athanaeum (Das Deutsche Haus) in Indianapolis, Ind.; Gaukler Pointe (Edsel and Eleanor Ford House) in Macomb County, Mich.; the Man Mound in Sauk County, Wis.; the Mississippi State Capitol in Jackson, Miss.; Norman Film Manufacturing Company in Jacksonville, Fla.; St. Bartholomew's Church and Community House in New York, N.Y.; The Steward's House, Foreign Mission School, in Cornwall, Conn.; and Zoar Historic District in Zoar, Ohio were also named national historic landmarks.

"These 10 new national historic landmarks reveal important pieces of our nation's diverse heritage through art, architecture and stories of community and identity," said Jewell. "Today's designation ensures future generations can trace, understand and learn from these properties, which join more than 2,500 other landmarks nationwide.

The new landmarks are listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

"During the National Park Service's Centennial year, we are celebrating the places that tell America's stories, and these newly designated National Historic Landmarks recognize important experiences that help us understand our history and culture," said Jarvis.

More From KOWB 1290