* University of Wyoming press release

LARAMIE -- University of Wyoming junior running back Titus Swen has been selected to the 2022 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List as announced by the Tyler (Texas) Chamber and SPORTTyler.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who exhibits the enduring characteristics that define former University of Texas running back Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

KOWB 1290 logo
Get our free mobile app

The award honors the legacy of Texas legend Campbell and recognizes his home community of Tyler, Texas.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year Division I Texas college.

Swen is a graduate of Eaton High School in Fort Worth, Texas.

More information about the Award may be found at: www.earlcampbellaward.com/.

Swen is coming off an extremely productive 2021 season. He earned Second Team All-Mountain West Conference honors from Pro Football Focus, while rushing for a career high 785 yards and seven touchdowns. He also led Wyoming in kickoff returns, with 12, and kickoff return yardage, with 231 yards.


* Alex Brown is healthy, motivated heading into crucial campaign

* Wyoming's Un-Sweet 16: No. 2 Whittingham vs. No. 15 Morgan Bros.

* Evan Svoboda has a big right arm, the confidence to match

* Pokes Practice Report: Position battles heating up

Swen added five pass receptions for 24 yards to end the season with 1,040 all-purpose yards for an average of 80.0 all-purpose yards per game.

Swen averaged 5.95 yards per carry to rank No. 2 in the Mountain West and No. 26 in the nation. He recorded two 100-yard rushing games in ‘21 -- 166 yards in a home win over Colorado State and 169 yards in a road win over eventual Mountain West Champion Utah State.

The 169 yards at Utah State included a 98-yard run for a touchdown that put on display Swen’s explosive running style.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award was first established in 2012. Previous winners include: Bryce Petty, Baylor, QB (2013); Trevone Boykin, TCU, QB (2014); Greg Ward, Jr., Houston, QB (2015); D’Onta Foreman, Texas, RB (2016); Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, QB (2017); Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, QB (2018); J.K. Dobbins, Ohio State, RB (2019); Kyle Trask, Florida, QB (2020); and Bailey Zappe, Western Kentucky, QB (2021).

Important dates for this year’s Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award are:

      Preseason Watch List Announcement: August 9, 2022

      Semifinalists Announcement: November 17, 2022

      Finalists Announcement: December 13, 2022

      Banquet/Winner Announcement: January 11, 2023

PRESS PASS: Roaming The War

Wyoming Cowboys vs. Montana State Bobcats

-LOOK: Pokes vs. Bobcats

More From KOWB 1290