CHEYENNE, Wyo. (AP) — The Wyoming Republican Party has received eight applications to fill the vacant secretary of state position.

The applicants are Pete Illoway of Cheyenne, Darin Smith of Cheyenne, Ed Buchanan of Torrington, Richard George of Powell, Max Maxfield of Cheyenne, Cynthia Cloud of Cody, Robert Elwell of Cheyenne and Nina Webber of Thermopolis.

GOP Chairman W. Frank Eathorne says the party's State Central Committee will meet Saturday to select three nominees from the applications for Gov. Matt Mead, who will then appoint the new secretary of state.

The job opened when Ed Murray abruptly resigned on Feb. 9 after two women accused him of sexual misconduct that they said occurred more than 30 years ago.

More From KOWB 1290