COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced its 2020-21 Scholar-Athlete Award winners Thursday, with 162 Wyoming student-athletes receiving the honor.

Women’s track and field led UW with 27 total honors, while women’s swimming and diving had the second-most with 23 honorees. Men’s track and field garnered 18 honors, soccer had 17 honorees, football and women’s cross country had 15 each and women’s basketball rounded-out the sports with double-figure honorees with 11. Volleyball had nine selected, men’s golf had eight, men’s cross country and women’s golf had six each, women’s tennis had four honorees and men’s basketball had three.

KOWB 1290 logo
Get our free mobile app

Overall, 74 freshmen student-athletes were named to the list, followed by 49 sophomores, 22 juniors and 17 seniors. In all, 27 UW student-athletes earned a perfect 4.0 GPA during the academic year.

To be eligible for the 2020-21 Scholar-Athlete Team, student-athletes must have completed at least two semesters at the member institution, while maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher. The athletic contribution/participation requirement was omitted for the award this year due to the impact of Covid-19.

University of Wyoming Student-Athletes to Earn Mountain West Scholar-Athlete Honors


Football (15)
Blayne Baker
Brady Bohlinger
Jeff Burroughs
Parker Christensen
Roy Coors
James Gibbs
Lukas Glassock
Blake Harrington
Chance Hofer
Marco Macahdo
Jackson Marcotte
Chad Muma
Jaylen Pate
William Pelissier
Wyatt Wieland

Men’s Basketball (3)
John Grigsby
Eoin Nelson
Jeremiah Oden

Men’s Cross Country (6)
Philip Henry
Mason Norman
William Persin
Josh Rodgers
Trevor Stephen
Connor Zydek

Men’s Golf (8)
Patrick Azevedo
Ethan Cates
Liam Clancy
Kirby Coe-Kirkham
Jimmy Dales
Jared Edeen
Dan Starzinski
Carl Underwood

Men’s Track (18)
Hunter Brown
Daniel Carrillo
Sage Coventry
Jaymison Cox
Tyler Dahl
Bryson Engebretsen
Christopher Henry
Philip Henry
Daniel Hintz
Caige McComb
Pete Mead
Kareem Mersal
Mason Norman
William Persin
Josh Rodgers
Roman Smith
Trevor Stephen
Connor Zydek

Women’s Basketball (11)
McKinley Bradshaw
Emily Buchanan
Lexi Bull
Dagny Davidsdottir
Landri Hudson
Tommi Olson
Paula Salazar
Alba Sanchez Ramos
Paige Toomer
Ola Ustowska
Quinn Weidemann

Women’s Cross Country (15)
Kaylee Bentley
Kennedy Burch
McKenzi Davison
Riley Frankel
Riley Geldean
Addi Iken
Emmy Johnson
Kaylee Kearse
Abigail Matthias
Katelyn Mitchem
Michelle Renner
Molly Sitter
Baylee Stafford
Abigail Whitman
Madyson Willis

Women’s Golf (6)
Cristiana Ciasca
Samantha Hui
Erin Sargent
Caitlyn Skavdahl
Rachel Stoinski
Jessica Zapf

Soccer (17)
Maria Allen
Ashley Bahr
Jazlin Barela
Alyssa Bedard
Nikayla Copenhaver
Rae Gerking
Camille Hawley
Faith Joiner
Molly Kuhbacher
Hannah Lee
Sydney Miller
Allison Mills
Haylee Rice
Kennedy Schomer
Amber Vokoun
Elaine Webber
Keelie Wortmann

Women’s swimming (23)
Madeline Bane
Claire Becker
Karla Contreras
Kristen Covello
Samantha Covello
Kira Crane
Brooke Ford
Kali Franckowiak
Emily Giles
Molly Green
McKenna Houlihan
Lainee Jones
Hannah Linde
Hannah McLean-Leonard
Sage Morton
Britt Nichols
Andrea Niemann
Jocelyn Petersen
Rachel Pietsch
Rylie Pilon
Zoe Robison
Makena Sanger
Abigail Zoromski

Women’s Tennis (4)
Alyse Cormier
Mihaela Kaftanova
Ida Krause
Maria Oreshkina

Women’s Track (27)
Kaylee Bentley
Kennedy Burch
Mary Carbee
Jordan Christensen
McKenzi Davison
Maddison Dedic
Riley Frankel
Riley Geldean
Shayla Howell
Addi Iken
Emmy Johnson
Kaylee Kearse
Madeline Killian
Abigail Matthias
Sadie McMullen
Katelyn Mitchem
Julia Kay O’Neill
Jenae Ramirez
Michelle Renner
Allyson Serbick
Sabrina Shoopman
Molly Sitter
Baylee Stafford
Cosette Stellern
Kayla Stibley
Abigail Whitman
Madyson Willis

Volleyball (9)
Casady Berry
Corin Carruth
Kaitlyn Gehler
Erika Jones
Jackie McBride
Abby Olsen
Zoee Smith
Faith Waitsman
Hailey Zuroske

* University of Wyoming press release

LOOK: Historical Wyoming License Plates Since 1914

More From KOWB 1290