Four Wyoming Cowboys were honored by the Mountain West media, who released their all-conference teams and post-season awards Sunday.

Senior forward Hayden Dalton and junior guard Justin James were named First Team All-MW by the media who cover the league. Senior forward Alan Herndon was selected as the MW Defensive Player of the Year and Honorable Mention All-MW. Finally, senior guard Louis Adams was chosen as the Sixth Man of the Year.

James led Wyoming in scoring at 19.1 points per game, which was third best in the conference. He elevated that to 20.8 points per game during MW games. James scored 20 or more 14 different times throughout the season. He scored a career-best 33 points twice this season, once at Nevada and another time at San Jose State.

Dalton ranked in the top-10 of 17 different MW statistical categories. He averaged 18.1 points and 8 rebounds per game. Those marks were good for fourth and fifth in the league. He also finished with eight double-doubles on the season. Dalton was sixth in the conference with 82 three-pointers this season. He scored a career-best 36 points in the conference opener versus San Diego State on Dec. 27, 2017.

Herndon led the MW in blocks with 69 this season. He also led in blocks per game at 2.2, which was good enough for No. 28 in the country. Herndon is the MW’s active leader in career blocks with 181. He also had 26 steals and snagged 4.9 defensive rebounds per game.

Adams became the second straight Cowboys to garner Sixth Man of the Year honors, after James earned the distinction from the media a year ago. Adams averaged 9.9 points per game off the bench in just over 19 minutes per game. He had a career-high 31 points versus New Mexico Feb. 20. Adams is shooting 43 percent from three-point range.

As for the other special awards, the media selected Boise State’s Chandler Hutchison as its Player of the Year. Coach of the Year honors went to Nevada’s Eric Musselman. The Wolfpack’s Caleb Martin was named Newcomer of the Year. Freshman of the Year honors were awarded to UNLV’s Brandon McCoy.

James and Dalton were joined on the First Team by Hutchison and Martin, plus Nevada’s Jordan Caroline.

The Mountain West Conference will release its All-Conference honors as voted on by the league’s head coaches Tuesday.

More From KOWB 1290