A 10th place finish is predicted for the Wyoming Cowboys in the upcoming 2016-17 Mountain West men’s basketball season.

The conference released its preseason media poll and all-conference team during MW basketball media days in Las Vegas Wednesday.

The Cowboys received 73 points in voting by the media, and are picked ahead of only San Jose State.

San Diego State was chosen as the favorite to win the regular season title. The Aztecs received 23 of 27 first-place votes. San Diego State had 293 points in the balloting by the media.

Nevada was selected second ahead of New Mexico and Fresno State. The Lobos got three first-place votes, while the Bulldogs received one.

As for the preseason All-MW team, no Wyoming player was selected.

This year’s squad is comprised of Utah State senior Jalen Moore, New Mexico juniors Elijah Brown and Tim Williams, San Diego State junior Trey Kell and Nevada sophomore Cameron Oliver.

Brown was tabbed as the MW Preseason Player of the Year.

The media selected co-Freshman of the Year in San Diego State’s Jalen McDaniels and Utah State’s Koby McEwen. Montaque Gill-Caesar, a sophomore transfer, was chosen as the Newcomer of the Year.

More From KOWB 1290