The National Weather Service has posted a severe thunderstorm watch for several eastern and central Wyoming counties through 9 p.m. Thursday.

Wyoming counties in the watch area include: Converse, Goshen, Niobrara, Platte, Campbell, Crook, Weston and Laramie. The watch also extends into central and eastern Montana, western Nebraska, northeastern Colorado and western South Dakota.

A flood watch also remains in effect through Friday afternoon near Owl Creek and the Bridger Mountains.

The NWS storm prediction center in Norman, Okla., and the NWS office in Rapid City, S.D., posted the combined watch shortly after 3 p.m.

More From KOWB 1290