The fifth-annual “Memory of the 8 Run/Walk” will take place on Sept. 16 in Gillette, Wyo.

The event honors the memory of University of Wyoming cross country runners Morgan McLeland, Cody Brown, Kyle Johnson, Josh Jones, Justin Lambert-Belanger, Kevin Salverson, Nick Schabron and Shane Shatto, who died in a car crash on Sept. 16, 2001. The 5-kilometer walk starts at 5 p.m. MT, while the 8-mile race on a figure-eight loop commences at 5:30 p.m. from

M&K Oil at 901 South 4-J Road. Registration on race day starts at 4:30 p.m. There is no registration fee, but donations will be accepted. Donations will go to help cover costs of the event, as well as to fund runners' scholarships for college-bound athletes. Shirts will be available for purchase, while a barbeque will be hosted afterwards.

More From KOWB 1290