Former University of Wyoming coach Dennis Erickson will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame this year. Erickson led the Pokes to a 6-6 record in 1986 before leaving for Washington State. He later won two National Championships at the University of Miami and coached the Seattle Seahawks and San Francisco 49ers in the NFL.

Another Wyoming legend was snubbed by the Hall of Fame again this year. Former Cowboys wide receiver Marcus Harris has been a finalist for the past two years. Harris was a two-time All American, 1996 Biletnikoff Award winner and set an NCAA record with 4,518 career receiving yards. He now ranks fifth on the all-time list.

Along with Erickson, the Hall of Fame Class of 2019 includes Raghib "Rocket" Ismail. The former Notre Dame receiver is the father of current Wyoming wide receiver Raghib Ismail, Jr.

Erickson will be the third Hall of Famer with Wyoming ties, joining former Pokes running back Eddie Talboom, who was inducted in 2000, and tight end Jay Novacek, who was inducted in 2008.

More From KOWB 1290