Former Wyoming Cowboy greats Mike Dirks and Marcus Harris are on the ballot for the 2016 College Football Hall of Fame.

They are two of the 76 players and five coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision on this year's ballot.

Dirks was a defensive tackle that earned 1967 First Team All-America honors. He led the Pokes to two bowl berths. He was also selected a two-time First Team All-Western Athletic Conference honoree and was a member of back-to-back WAC championship teams. Dirks was a three-year starter who finished his career with 210 total tackles, which included 59 tackles for loss.

Harris was a two-time First Team All-American and earned consensus honors as a senior. The 1996 Biletnikoff Award winner finished ninth in the Heisman Trophy voting that same year. Harris twice led the nation in receiving yards per game. He was the 1996 WAC Offensive Co-Player of the Year, who set the NCAA record with 4,518 career receiving yards at the time.

The 2016 Hall of Fame Class will be announced Friday, Jan. 8, 2016 in Scottsdale, AZ. It's in conjunction with the College Football Playoff National Championship weekend.

More From KOWB 1290