The new season starts about one and a-half months removed from the old season.

Cowboys and cowgirls will ride at Douglas on September 1st and 2nd to start the 2018 Fall Rodeo Season.

About 33% of the season is held in the fall, which will be held at Douglas, Lander (Sept. 8-9), Jackson (Sept. 15-16) and Wheatland (Sept. 22-23) in that order.

Competitors earn points based on where they finish on each day of a rodeo competition (10 points for first place, 9 points for second place, etc...).

The points from the fall season carry over the winter break, and into the Spring 2019 season, which will start in April.

The top 4 point totals in each event, after the State Finals Rodeo in June, will qualify for the 2018 High School National Finals Rodeo to be held July 14-20 at Rock Springs.

More From KOWB 1290