The defending Mountain West tournament champion Wyoming Cowboys have been selected to finish eighth in the upcoming 2015-16 season.

Basketball Media Days are going on Tuesday and Wednesday in Las Vegas. Tuesday, the Mountain West revealed its preseason poll and all-conference team according to a vote of the conference media.

The Pokes came in with 101 total points in the balloting.

Defending co-MW regular season champions San Diego State and Boise State were tabbed as the favorites. The Aztecs were an overwhelming choice to win the league. San Diego State collected 22 first place votes and 272 points to garner the top spot.

Boise State grabbed two first place votes and claimed second with 234 points.

Behind the Broncos was Utah State (190), UNLV (185) and Fresno State (182), who received a first place vote. After the Bulldogs, New Mexico was sixth (164), then Colorado State (144), Wyoming, Nevada (97), Air Force (51) and San Jose State (30).

UW senior guard Josh Adams was one of five players chosen to the preseason All-MW team. He helped the Cowboys to their first MW tournament championship and first NCAA tournament berth since 2002. Adams averaged 12.8 points per game last season. He added 3.3 rebounds per game and a team-best 1.4 steals per contest. Adams earned All-MW third team honors last season.

Also on the preseason All-MW team were Fresno State senior guard Marvelle Harris, who was selected as the Preseason Player of the Year. He's joined by San Diego State's Winston Shepard and Boise State's Anthony Drmic and James Webb III.

New Mexico junior forward Tim Williams received the nod for Preseason Newcomer of the Year. Williams is a transfer from Samford in the Southern Conference.

Preseason Freshman of the Year honors went to a UNLV Rebel for a second consecutive year. The honor goes to Stephen Zimmerman, Jr., a forward, who is ranked as the No. 10 prospect in the ESPN 100.