The Wyoming Cowboys best college football season since 1998 has resulted in nine players and head coach Craig Bohl receiving honors from the Mountain West.

The conference announced its 2016 All-Mountain West awards and special honors Tuesday. Head coach Craig Bohl was chosen as the Coach of the Year. Redshirt freshman linebacker Logan Wilson was voted Freshman of the Year.

Wyo HC Craig Bohl 2016
Ethan Miller, Getty Images

Bohl has led the Pokes to the 2016 Mountain West Championship game. It’s their first ever appearance. UW won a share of the Mountain Division title, their first division crown since 1996. The Cowboys have improved by six wins over last year, which includes a pair of victories over Top 25 ranked opponents for the first time since 1999.

Logan Wilson Wyo Cowboys LB 16
Seneca Riggins, Townsquare Media

Wilson led all MW freshman with 6.7 tackles per game. He was selected the conference Defensive Player of the Week after the Utah State win. Wilson has scored two touchdowns on an interception return and a fumble recovery in the end zone. He had a career-best 13 tackles at UNLV.

Four Cowboys were named First Team All-MW. Junior running back Brian Hill, senior tight end Jacob Hollister, senior center Chase Roullier and sophomore safety Andrew Wingard received that distinction. Hill, Roullier and Wingard all earned Second Team All-Conference in 2015.

Second Team All-MW honors went to redshirt sophomore QB Josh Allen, senior receiver Tanner Gentry and senior D.J. May as a return specialist.

The final accolade was bestowed upon senior linebacker Lucas Wacha. He received Honorable Mention All-MW.

This is the most honors the Wyoming Cowboys have had since the 2011 season and ties the most First Team accolades UW’s earned as part of the Mountain West. They also had four in 2004.

The league’s 12 head coaches and select media members from across the Mountain West voted for the All-Conference team.

More From KOWB 1290