Youth all-star baseball invades the Gem City this week, as Laramie hosts the District 2 Little League Baseball Tournament.

Both 11-12 and 9-10 year old all-star teams will be competing to finish among the top two teams of a double elimination bracket. All the action is at the Laramie Youth Baseball complex on Armory Road.

The Laramie 11-12 year old All-Stars head coach is Jerry Dodd. He is being assisted by Travis Brown and Conrad Chavez. This year’s squad features four returners from a year ago and three more players with all-star experience from the 9-10 year old level.

Dodd feels his team’s interaction will be very beneficial.

“They’re all happy for each other’s success. For them, that’s the biggest thing. They’re excited when somebody else does something. They’re also there to pick each other up. I think it just comes down to the overall chemistry and good communication.”

Dodd went on to say they’ve got pitching depth and a strong offense. They’ve also been working hard on defense leading up to the tournament.

Laramie begins action Monday at 7 p.m. against Rawlins. The winner will face Cheyenne at 4 p.m. Tuesday.

Dodd said the bracket simply doesn’t matter to him.

“We’re ready to go. We’ve got to play everybody we figure… our kids are going to show up and play, and we’ve just to get out there and put it together.”

This year’s roster is comprised of Kolton Brenneman, Jaedyn Brown, Liam Bryant, Brandon Chavez, Jackson Devine, Garrett Dodd, Riley Hogsett, Diego Medina, Mahlon Morris, Ben Ruckman, Camden Shipman, Darek Squires and Jake Vigen.

Gillette and Torrington are the other two teams in the five-team bracket. The championship is set for 10 a.m. Friday.

9-10 year old All-Stars

The Laramie 9-10 year old All-Stars are set for their first action at the District 2 Little League Tournament against Torrington at 4 p.m. Monday.

Brett Moniz is the head coach of this year’s squad. He’s joined by assistants Todd Looney and Nate Hoyt.

This year’s team includes Andrew Ballard, Aidan Buchanan, James Darling, Sam Hoyt, Trace Looney, Tripp Looney, Jace Moniz, Tanner Schilz, Kaige Schriner, Caleb Squires, Max Stanard, Colin Suloff and Grant Vigen.

Four of those players are returning from last year’s state runner-up team. They are Buchanan, Tripp Looney, Squires and Stanard.

There are five other teams in the double elimination bracket. They are Cheyenne, Gillette American, Gillette National, Newcastle and Rawlins. The 9-10 championship game is at 1 p.m. Friday.