The preseason Mountain West volleyball poll and all-conference team was announced today. The Wyoming Cowgirls were chosen to finish fifth.

Senior Middle Blocker Erin Kirby was selected to the preseason All-MW team for the first time in her career.

The voting panel consisted of the league’s 11 head coaches.

Defending league-champion Colorado State was picked to win the 2014 MW regular-season title. The Rams received seven first-place votes and 97 total points in the balloting. New Mexico was selected to finish second and got the other four first-place votes. Utah State was picked third followed by San Diego State. Wyoming, Boise State and UNLV landed in fifth through seventh. They were separated by five points.

Kirby is a three-time All-Mountain West selection. She led the conference in blocking last year and finished second in the country in that category.

New Mexico senior Chantale Riddle was named the 2014 MW Preseason Player of the Year, while Colorado State's Deedra Foss was the designated setter and UNLV’s Allison Davis was chosen as the designated libero. Six of the seven members of the 2014 preseason All-MW team are returning 2013 All-MW team members.

The Cowgirls return four starters and nine letter-winners to this year’s squad. They open up the 2014 season Friday, August 29 at the Montana Invite.

For a complete look at the preseason poll and all-conference squad, you can click here.